Upazila elections: 32 AL, BNP leaders file nomination papers to EC in two UZs in Barisal


Barisal Correspondent :
A total of 32 candidates including AL and BNP leaders filed nomination papers to the election commission in two upazilas of Barisal district on Saturday, the last day of submission.
After talking with the local voters and political leaders it was learnt that among the aspirant candidates at least 2 leaders of AL, 2 of JaPa (Ershad), 8 of BNP, 1 of IAB submitted nomination papers for the chairman posts of those two upazilas of Barisal district.
After declaring the schedules for Upazila Parishad elections aspirant candidates from both the AL-led ruling and BNP-led opposition alliances collected 45 and filed 32 nomination papers to contest in the election.
District and upazila election office sources said six candidate filed nomination papers for the chairman post, five for one male vice chairman post and six for one female vice chairman post of Bakarganj upazila parishad.
On the other hand seven candidate filed nomination papers for the chairman post five for one male vice chairman and three for the one female vice chairman post of Gournadi upazila parishad.
Among them Shah Alam Khan and Shamsul Alam Chunnu, AL leader and present upazila chairman of Gournadi and Bakerganj upazilas again selected as the AL nominated candidates for the post, said Advocate Talukdar Md. Yunus, AL lawmakers district secretary.
Syeda Manirunnahar Marry, present female vice chairman and Nuruzzaman Farhad Munshi, AL activist businessman, selected as AL nominated as vice chairman candidates of Gournadi UZP and candidates for these two posts of Bakerganj UZP would be decided after talking with JaPa (Ershad) leaders, T M Yunus said.
JaPa (Ershad) upazila organizing secretary Mizanur Rahman submitted nomination paper as chairman candidate of Gournadi upazila parishad and Khandokar Zahangir Hossain, JaPa (Ershad) activist submitted nomination paper for Bakerganj upazila parishad chairman post, informed district JaPa president Principal Mohsin Ul Islam Habul.
On other hand Principal ABM Mashiur Rahman, upazila BNP organizing secretary, Shikdar Khalilur Rahman, BNP activists, Mozammel Huq Akon of Islami Andolon Bangladesh submitted nomination papers for chairman post of Bakerganj upazila parishad.
Besides Abul Hossain Mia, upazila BNP president and former UZP chairman, Principal Maksuda Hossain, his wife, Nur Alam Haoladar, former municipal chairman and upazila president, Lokman Hossain Khan, district(north) BNP vice-president, submitted nomination papers for Gournadi upazila parishad chairman post.