Bangla-Lanka 1st Test begins today


Bangladesh Cricket team led by Mshfiqur Rahim will take on Sri Lanka Cricket team led by Anjelo Mathews in the first Test match, which begins today at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur. The match starts at 9.30 am BST (Bangladesh Standard Time).State-owned television channel Bangladesh Television will telecast the match live from the Stadium.Besides, private satellite television channel Maasranga Television will also telecast the match live.Captain of Bangladesh Cricket team Mushfiqur Rahim said, “We can not play ten to twelve Test matches in a year like other Test teams. So, every match is important for us. We have nothing to prove. It is important for us to show consistent performance. We have only one challenge to maintain our consistency. We shall try to present our best in the first month of the year. The members of our team have worked hard. I am not thinking about the new proposal of ICC now. Our total attention is tomorrows match against Sri Lanka.”On the other hand, skipper of Sri Lanka Cricket team Anjelo Mathews said, “We played a good cricket against Pakistan recently. Although we drew the three-match Test series 1-1, but we are satisfied with our performance. Our confidence is now very high.”Meanwhile, Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium is prepared to stage the upcoming Test match between hosts Bangladesh and tourists Sri Lanka. Bangladesh (probable): Mushfiqur Rahim (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Shakib Al Hasan, Nasir Hossain, Abdur Razzak, Marshall Ayub, Mominul Haque, Shohag Gazi, Al-Amin Hossain, Rabiul Islam and Rubel Hossain.Sri Lanka team (probable) : Anjelo Mathews (Captain), Dinesh Chandimal (Vice-Captain), Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardena, Prasanna Jayawardena, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal and Shaminda Eranga.