Tamim-Mahmudullah return for NZ series


Agency :
The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced the squad for the first and second ODIs of this month’s three-match ODI series against New Zealand (NZ) in Dhaka.

Litton Kumer Das will lead the side in the absence of regular captain Shakib Al Hasan who has been rested along with Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, and the pace trio of Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, and Shoriful Islam.

There was no place for batters Naim Sheikh, Afif Hossain, and Shamim Hossain who were all part of the squad that played in the Asia Cup.

Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah Riyad, Soumya Sarkar, and Quazi Nurul Hasan Sohan returned to the side.

The uncapped players in the squad are left-hander Zakir Hasan, pacer Syed Khaled Ahmed, and leg-spinner Rishad Hossain.


The National Selection Panel Chairman Minhajul Abedin said: “The decision to rest players was taken in consideration of the World Cup in India which will be a long tournament where ensuring the mental and physical fitness of the cricketers will be very important.

The series against New Zealand provides us an opportunity to take a look at some other players as well ahead of this major event,””The squad is a blend of experience and youth and only Zakir, Khaled and Rishad have not featured in ODIs yet.

Zakir was very close to playing against Ireland in March before he suffered an unfortunate injury.

Khaled has done well in his list A career and Rishad offers a different dimension to our bowling attack.”

The Bangladesh team will commence training on September 19 at the Sher-e-Bangla (SBNCS), Mirpur:
Squad (for 1st & 2nd ODIs):
Litton Kumer Das (Captain), Tamim Iqbal Khan, Soumya Sarkar, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmudullah Riyad, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Zakir Hasan, Rishad Hossain and Khaled Ahmed.